Let it Snow

Ten years ago it snowed here in Solvang. And not just a little snow that melts when it hits the ground. As you can see from our cars, we had a few inches pile up.

Solvang is a place where we dress in shorts and t-shirts to watch the Christmas parade. We go to the beach on New Year’s Day. People pull out boots and sweaters when it gets below 60 degrees. Snow was a big deal.

My husband and I were so excited we hopped in his truck and drove around town. We took pictures and videotaped our favorite places wearing a blanket of white. We had a snowball fight in the front yard and stuck our tongues out to catch the tiny flakes.

Some people aren’t sure about the date. But I always remember that it snowed in February of 1999. Because the day after it snowed, I realized I was pregnant. My son was born that November.

This morning when I took the kids to school it was 36 degrees outside. A winter storm is headed our way. My kids are praying for snow. So am I.

I was thinking about the snow as I sang this song earlier today. So I added some of my snow pictures and set it to the Gingerbread Singers’ a capella rendition of “Jingle Bells” (I’m the tenor).

The winner for the Third Day of Christmas is:

Congratulations, Shannon! Email me at solvangsherrie at gmail dot com and let me know which prize you would like to receive from Day Three.

For the Fourth Day of Christmas there are two book choices. Choice #1 is Hamlet by John Marsden, an updated YA version of Shakespeare’s classic play. If only we could have read this in English class! And isn’t that a great cover?

Choice #2 is The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale. This is another update on a classic tale, this time from the Grimm brothers. I love reimagined fairy tales and this one was a good read.

I’ll be randomly selecting a winner for this drawing on Thursday night, 10 pm PST so be sure to leave a comment before then. And don’t forget to email me to claim your prize.

I hope you are all having a wonderful holiday season!