You Know You’re Famous When…

…your book is a question/answer on Jeopardy!

And yes, this just happened to someone in my region who I interviewed here on the blog, PB author Barbara Jean Hicks.

The category was Literary Monsters for $1000

In a Barbara Jean Hicks story, monsters are tricked into
eating these veggies when told they’re giant trees.

What is…?

You could probably guess the answer even if I didn’t have a picture of the book over there. But still! How cool is that to have your name and book on national television?! And check out the other authors in the category: Mary Shelly, Jules Verne, R.L. Stine and Rick Riordan. Pretty sweet!

Congratulations, Barbara Jean!!

20 thoughts on “You Know You’re Famous When…

  1. Dude, that is so cool! I dunno if that, or having a Wikipedia page, is cooler… I remember freaking out when I saw that Dooce had a Jeopardy clue!

  2. Marissa: Surreal is the perfect word to describe it!

    Hilary: I get goose bumps just thinking about it πŸ™‚

    Kristan: Haha, a Wikipedia page is pretty amazing too πŸ™‚

    JEM: Very, very cool!

    Tricia: I think I would scream, too!

    Sarah: I'm so glad that I heard about this from you because it's SUCH a cool thing!

  3. I found out about this when a friend called after seeing it. I told her,
    “Get outta here!” (She's the kind who would happily pull my leg.) “Surreal” and “nuts” are definitely the words I'd use–especially because I am simply the un-coolest, so out of the mainstream, so NOT pop-culture oriented picture book author out there. But hey–Alex Trebek is a hunka-hunka, and I'm milking it for all it's worth. πŸ™‚

  4. Congrats, Barbara!! Now when people ask “What kind of books do you write?” you can say, “Oh, childrens' books. They mentioned my book on Jeopardy…”

    πŸ˜‰

  5. Barbara Jean: So excited for you!!

    Elana: I know, right?

    Lydia: Yeah, national recognition!

    Susan: No kidding! The other authors were impressive but having Rick Riordan in the category takes it to a whole new level for me πŸ˜€

    Kari: Yeah, not everyone gets on Jeopardy!

    Tyhitia: My sentiments exactly πŸ™‚

    Carolyn: Yes it would!

Leave a Reply

