Real Men DO Eat Quiche

My son asked me to make quiche last week.

Not something you expect to hear from a 10-year-old, especially one who tends to only eat food he’s sure he likes. But when he showed me the recipe he wanted me to make, I had to laugh. Because it was in here.

Yeah. Who knew a graphic novel could make my kids try something new?

I’ve written about the Bone Series before. Author Jeff Smith started off publishing them himself. Word of mouth and the internet made these books wildly popular. They appeal to reluctant readers, and girls read them just as much as boys.

But did you know that they’re #3 on ALA’s list of Top 10 Banned Graphic Novels? Figures. What would you expect from a book that encourages kids to eat quiche?

Just for the record, the recipe is DELICIOUS! Thanks, Jeff πŸ˜€

19 thoughts on “Real Men DO Eat Quiche

  1. Very, very cool. I loved reading when I was little, and the things that it introduced me to always seemed wondrous. Quiche! So much fun to make. What an enjoyable post to read–thanks for sharing it!

  2. lol! That is a great story. Gotta love a kid who will eat quiche, ask specifically for it, AND hand you the recipe he wants.

    I've really got to get those books for my daughter!

    Happy Monday, Sherrie!

  3. hi miss sherri! i didnt ever hear of that bone book. maybe its something i could like to read. im gonna ask my brothers to look at it and maybe i could get it. my brother sebi does most of the cooking and he did quiche one time and it was pretty good.
    …hugs from lenny

Leave a Reply

