Gearing up for NaNoWriMo

It’s almost time for that epic month of nonstop plotting, writing, lack of sleep and maybe a little monkey business: National Novel Writing Month. Woo-hoo!!

Even when I don’t officially sign up for NaNo, I try to write as much as possible in November. It’s a good kick in the butt and an excuse to ignore the cooking, cleaning and laundry (because I’m so on top of it the rest of the year!).

The thing is, I write middle grade novels and none of them has ever been 50,000 words. This year though, I have a story idea that could very well end up that long. I’ve done a little plotting, written a couple chapters that may or may not end up in the final novel. We shall see.

Is anybody out there doing NaNoWriMo this year?

24 thoughts on “Gearing up for NaNoWriMo

  1. I can't say I'll never do Nano but I most likely won't. I will be writing a first draft though through out November. Honestly, I'd rather take 3 months and write it better the first time. Rushing doesn't work for me. I'm a solid 4-5K words a week and that works for me. Good luck!

  2. I have officially registered for NaNo twice, and lost both times, lol. Not great for my self-esteem. But 50k in one month is a ton of words, so I try not to beat myself up about it. Like you, I am just aiming to write up a storm. One of these days, I'm bound to “win.”

  3. I'm in RevMo – or something like that. Did NaNo once and I highly recommend it to anyone who has not ventured down that path. Amazing experience and I learned so much about me, my writing process and writing abilities.

    You go, girl!

  4. Oh, NaNo was an epic fail for me last year. Ironically, the piece I started last year is my current WIP and I have plans to finish the first draft by Thanksgiving. Only took me one extra year and another WIP in between :).

  5. I'm officially not doing Nano this year. I've decided to keep working on my trunked novel, so I plan to write along with everyone else. This has worked for me in the past, tapping into the Nano energy!

  6. I'm in! It's the extra kick and peer pressure I need to get a BUNCH of wordage done. Besides, the craziness is kind of fun. 😛 Yay for more NaNo-ers!

    I need to get an outline together. That's my new tactic this year – have more of a road map so I don't get stuck or lost. 😛

  7. lol–could you please come and teach me how to be on top of laundry and stuff the rest of the year? :o)

    I'm not officially doing NaNo, but I'm writing as much as I can in November too. SNI just won't let me loose all of the sudden…

    Good luck to you, Sherrie!

  8. No NaNoWriMo. No. I need to push myself, but I've already written 32K that will mostly be cut. I'm in “think it through more” mode and hoping that'll save me time in the long run. Still, I applaud those who do it. Sometimes it's the best/only way to get a first draft done.

  9. I'm Nano-ing!
    (I'm a faithful Nano-er…so far with a perfect track record of winning. The house becomes a hot mess, the fam gets sick of pizza, and I miss a shower once in a while…but it's FUN!)

    You can buddy me, if you like, at: the-sharp-pen

Leave a Reply

