The Magic Number

Today I’m guest posting over at Adventures in Children’s Publishing. I’m both terrified and honored that they’re including something from me on their amazing blog! Here’s a sneak peek at what I wrote:

THE MAGIC NUMBER

A friend asked me the other day how many queries she should send out for a book before giving up.

Seriously?!

My first reaction was, β€œNEVER GIVE UP!” But then I started thinking about my own querying journey and I realized sometimes, you do have to give up.

I started querying SECRET OF UNDINE in early 2009. I loved that book. It had water faeries and trolls, and two unsuspecting kids who get caught up in a territory war between the magical creatures. It was brilliant. *snarf* I entered it in a prominent contest and won third place. I thought I had it made. Agents were going to be lining up to get their hands on this story…
Β 

Head on over to Adventures in Children’s Publishing to read the rest.

And if you haven’t already left a comment to be entered in the fabulous drawing for the ARCs of three soon-to-be-released books, get thee to the post below. Or just follow this handy link πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “The Magic Number

  1. Just came over here to follow your blog after reading your post on Adventures in Children's Publishing. It was a great read. Thanks for sharing your experiences. πŸ™‚

  2. So, I'm a little behind in my blog reading, but I just read your post over on Adventures in Children's Publishing, and I LOVED it. I've heard bits of your story before, but you wrote it in a way that inspired me anew!

Leave a Reply

