About Face

sherrie petersenFor the last few years I’ve used an avatar that only showed part of my face. But when I signed up to do a blog tour for the upcoming release of Wish You Weren’t, Elana told me I needed an author photo. And not one that just showed a corner of my face.

Ugh.

I’ve never been one of those people that mugs for the camera. I’m happy to TAKE photos. Of other people. And group photos aren’t so bad. I’m short. It’s easy to hide behind someone. But to be the subject of a photo where I have to look reasonably intelligent, approachable and not unattractive?

sherrie petersenThat’s a lot to ask.

My wonderful friend and co-worker Amy Geriak volunteered for the job. I didn’t make it easy. I grimaced, covered my face, squinted, talked and pretty much made it as difficult as possible for her to get a decent shot. But she’s persistent. And she ended up getting a shot I don’t hate.

Of course, then my son had to tell me I’m smiling too big. Aren’t children great for your self confidence?

2 thoughts on “About Face

  1. I know what you mean though. I hate showing my face in photos, but as a book blogger, I felt that people would probably want to see who they were dealing with, so out came the photos, lol.

    Anyway, you are very pretty, and I don’t think you are smiling too big so no worries =) But yes, I have a 9 year old, and I agree about the children and self confidence thing, lol.

    • Thanks, Heather! I think she had to take about a hundred photos before we got one I didn’t hate. So that one’s going to have to last for the next 20 years because yeah, I do NOT enjoy being on that side of the camera 🙂

Leave a Reply

