Confessions of a Control Freak

Wish You Weren’t officially releases into the world tomorrow. And let me tell you, I’ve been short on sleep, trying to make sure I get every detail right. From learning to edit in Sigil, convert in Calibre and upload on Nook, to writing my guest posts, ordering my giveaway prizes and proofreading. Over and over and over again.

But I think the most important thing I’ve learned is that I was meant to publish this book myself. I love having complete design control over how my book looks inside and out. I enjoy putting together my marketing plan and figuring out what makes the most sense for promotions. See, I already do these things IRL for other people. So it only makes sense to me to do it now for myself. Then why is my stomach dropping and heart speeding up, even as I type this?

Because tomorrow marks the end of my control. Okay, maybe not the complete end, but once this book goes out into the world, I lose a LOT of control over it. I can’t control what people say about it, how they react to it, whether they buy it or read it or leave bad reviews. And this is what terrifies me: the parts I can’t control.

I’ve loved having creative control in bringing this baby to the world. But like all good parents, it’s time to loosen the apron strings and hope I’ve given it enough to allow it to succeed on its own. If this is any indication (in the last week it has jumped from #837 in Science Fiction for Kids & Teens to #13!), then this baby is already well on its way.

Image

And if you haven’t already done it, today is the last day to pre-order the e-book on Kobo for $1.99 and/or sign up to win a free printed copy in the Goodreads Giveaway!

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Control Freak

  1. Hi there! I could have sաorn I’ve visited this websitе before but after going through
    some of tɦe poѕts I realized it’ѕ ոոew to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I discօvered it annd I’ll be ookmarking it aոd checking baϲk ofteո!

Leave a Reply

