Grasshopper Giveaway

grasshopperThe 2014 Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards for Excellence in Children’s Literature were recently announced. And the winner in the fiction category? Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith.

I was lucky enough to get an advanced reader copy of this YA back in early February before the novel was released and I have to say, it was one of the strangest books I’ve ever read. Parts made me laugh out loud, and parts made me wonder what Andrew Smith was smoking when he came up with this plot. Six-foot-tall grasshoppers taking over the world? Yeah. Like I said…

But the backbone of the story – the relationship between Austin, his girlfriend and his best friend – make it a worthwhile read. Even if you do have to suspend your disbelief as an enormous grasshopper makes a meal out of the chemistry teacher. Or when you happen upon chapter titles like, “Never Look for Ice Cream in a Sperm Freezer.”

You can read The Horn Book review here. But if you’d like to read this YA novel for yourself, I’m giving away my ARC. Fill out this Rafflecopter for your chance to win!

13 thoughts on “Grasshopper Giveaway

    • I read his first novel after meeting him at a Writer’s Day event in Thousand Oaks, CA. He was SO funny during his presentation that I HAD to buy his book! This one is very different from that first novel, but I did enjoy it. I also have Winger in my TBR pile, which is different from either of these. I guess he’s making a career out of writing indefinable YA? 🙂

  1. The first book I read by Andrew Smith was The Marbury Lens. Loved it and the writing. Except I honestly couldn’t read it at night because my heart would start pounding and then I couldn’t fall asleep.

    I read most of Grasshopper Jungle. I enjoyed it. But to be honest, I found a lot of family history of the characters, and repetitive history, that bored me. I skipped bunches of it and didn’t feel like I missed anything. It was a fascinating twisted concept, and like you, I enjoyed best the relationship between the two boys and the girlfriend.

    • I’m kind of terrified to read The Marbury Lens. I’ve heard so much about it but I’m pretty sure it would give me nightmares. I’m the kid who slept with the light on after watching The Twilight Zone, so, yeah — low tolerance for scary stuff 😛

  2. I actually hadn’t read the book when I tweeted it, just the review. My friend’s editor was editor on it and my friend recommended it for the same reason: The relationships. Although I am definitely a fan of dark comedy and spec fiction.

Leave a Reply

