A Half Bad Giveaway

I hope you had a good two weeks off. I know I did. My WIP is up to 16K (hooray!), not as far as I’d like to be, but all progress is good so I’ll celebrate that!

Half Bad ARC giveawayToday I’m giving away my ARC of a YA novel that I’ve heard compared to Harry Potter. (Yeah, I’m with you – I’m immediately suspicious of anything that gets compared to Harry Potter.) In this case, comparing the two would be like saying because a wagon has four wheels, it is exactly like a car.

Wrong.

Here are the similarities between Half Bad and Harry Potter: an English author wrote a book that has witches in it.

That’s it. The similarities end there. Mainly because while Harry Potter has an underlying tone of fun and moments that make you laugh out loud, Half Bad is dark and somber from page one.

In case you haven’t heard of it, here’s the summary: In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and sixteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan’s father is the world’s most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his seventeenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. 

I’m the first to admit that dark and scary don’t always sit well with me. As a kid, reruns of the Twilight Zone creeped me out. I still refuse to take a shower if no one is at home and going to my first horror movie with a friend in college scarred me for life. I still get occasional nightmares from it. (Okay, that last one’s a slight exaggeration, but not by much.)

So it will come as no surprise that parts of Half Bad were difficult for me to read. Violence makes me squeamish. Fear for what would happen next kick started my heart rate into high gear. Even now as I think back on it, I’m wondering if I’ll be able to read the rest of the series because I doubt it’s going to get any lighter from here on out.

And yet, the story is so addictive, so compelling. The beginning starts off in second person, which I found highly annoying. Thankfully, it moves to first person before long. And once I got into it, it was impossible to stay away. The whole premise of good and bad gets turned on its head and makes me really curious to know where this story will end up.

If you’d like to win a copy and check it out for yourself, fill out the form below. Since I’ll be mailing the physical ARC, this giveaway is only open to U.S. residents. (Sorry foreign friends! I’ll have some ebook giveaways coming up as well.) Good luck!

P.S. I’m trying a new raffle form. Let me know if you like this one or Rafflecopter better 🙂

12 thoughts on “A Half Bad Giveaway

  1. I’ve used this new entry form a few times, and, as with anything new….I like the old better..but it did work very easy. I like your review as I am the same way with the dark and darker stories out there.

    • Yeah, there are definitely things I like better about each form. I wish I could find one that would automatically display in Worpress!

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who has trouble with dark stories 🙂

  2. This book sounds amazing. I think both my teen daughters would enjoy it too. Thanks for the honest review–I also cringe at violence, but have found it easier to read than to see in movies. Keeping my fingers crossed to win this one.

  3. I read Half Bad as a glitchy eARC, and even that couldn’t stop me from flipping the pages. This book was so good. I want to read it again (and again) with the luxury of a printed page.

  4. Oh – and I like the new raffle form. It seems to work better on my iPad than Rafflecopter. And thank you for not having ninety hoops to jump through to enter your contest! 🙂

  5. I hadn’t heard of this book. It sounds intriguing. But I’m like you — dark and scary aren’t really my thing. I might check it out anyway, though, because the premise sounds awesome.

  6. This book does sound interesting. The darkness to it definitely makes it different than HP- but I am okay with spooky books. I am definitely interested in reading Half Bad. I hadn’t heard of it before. Thanks for sharing your review and for the giveaway. I am okay with the entry form- it worked well. 🙂

    Awesome job making progress on your WIP!

Leave a Reply

