Meet My Character Blog Tour

GodWhispererLast week my friend and critique partner Kimberley Troutte tagged me as part of a Meet My Character Blog Tour. She posted about the characters from her newly released novel, God Whisperer. I can remember reading a draft of this story years ago, so it was incredibly exciting to see it released to the world last month. Kim is donating 10% of her royalties from sales of this book to the American Society for Deaf Children. You can find out more about the novel at Amazon |Β Barnes and Noble |Β Kobo | iTunes.

I’m going to be talking about the characters from WISH YOU WEREN’T and the companion novel BORROWED TIME, which will be releasing next year.

1) What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or a historic person?
Marten is the main character in WISH YOU WEREN’T and he’s definitely fictional. His brother Aldrin plays a big part in the story, but he gets his own novel in next year’s BORROWED TIME.

2) When and where is the story set?
Both novels are set in the current time — for the most part. Time travel plays a big part in the stories so when and where are kind of relative!

boys3) What should we know about him/her?
Marten is a good kid, but even good kids can make mistakes.

4) What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life?
Marten’s little brother drives him crazy (kind of like how my little brother drove me insane!). But when Marten impulsively makes a wish and his brother disappears, he realizes he needs to do everything in his power to get his brother back.

5) What is the personal goal of the character?
To fix his wish and make everything right again for his family.

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?
WISH YOU WEREN’T released back in March. BORROWED TIME will be Aldrin’s story.

7) When can we expect the book to be published?
BORROWED TIME will release in early 2015.

I’m tagging Kelly Polark to tell us about one of her characters next week. She blogs at kpolark.blogspot.com and has already released two books this year: Rock and Roll Princesses Don’t Wear Black (middle grade) and Words on Birds, a picture book collaboration with the award-winning photos of her father. Be sure to check out her books and her answers next Monday!

And if you have a chance, check out the sky tonight — the Perseids meteor shower peaks over the next few nights. Get in all your wishes while you can! πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Meet My Character Blog Tour

    • I’ve been working on this story off and on, but I finally realized what the title should be which helped solidify some of the concepts. Now I’m totally pumped to finish working on it πŸ™‚ Looking forward to your post next week!

  1. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your
    website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way
    of content so people could connect with it
    better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or
    2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. I caught some meteors and wishes- but it was a little cloudy, so I couldn’t see lots of them. Still- better to see some than none. πŸ™‚

    Loved the character interview. I will be reading Wish You Weren’t soon. It’s getting closer to the top of my list. :). Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

