We Like What We Like

santa-claus-martians-oct-30When he was little, one of my husband’s favorite Christmas movies was “Santa Claus Conquers the Martians.” I laughed out loud the first time he told me the title, sure he was making it up. But no, it’s a real movie starring a young Pia Zadora as a martian child. The acting is terrible, the costumes and makeup are a joke and the plot is just ridiculous. And yet, we watch this cinematic masterpiece every year (and laugh!) because it appealed to a young child of the sixties and got him excited for the holidays.

There’s no explaining taste. Songs that my daughter loves, my son ridicules. Movies that my son and husband love (Dumb and Dumber To, anyone?) make me want to poke my eyeballs out. We can argue the finer points of an artist, a song or a plot, talk until we’re blue about what makes something great, but in the end, either it appeals or it doesn’t.

When it comes to books, reviews are huge. I’ve had some great reviews of WISH YOU WEREN’T, and I’d love to get more. So for two weeks, I’m giving away copies of the ebook. If you’ve already read and reviewed it, you have my undying love and gratitude. And I’m happy to send you an ebook. If you haven’t read or reviewed it, I’m happy to send you an ebook.

Yes, you read that right. Whether you’ve read it or not, I’d like to send you an ebook of WISH YOU WEREN’T. Leave a comment below or email me. And once you’ve read it, if you have a few minutes, I hope that you’ll write a review. Even if you think it’s as bad as Santa Claus Conquers the Martians 🙂

What are YOUR favorite Christmas movies? Or movies that you love to hate?

One thought on “We Like What We Like

  1. I have never heard of this holiday movie- but I think it is awesome that you and your husband watch it yearly and laugh. I am sure it makes it feel more like Christmas to your husband (and now you). 🙂

    I don’t have an ereader, but I know my co-author, Stephanie, has Wish You Weren’t on her Kindle and TBR list. As soon as she gets to it she will review it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

