Hello, My Pretty

Last year when Wish You Weren’t came out, I was happy with the cover and hopeful that it represented the story well. I still love the cover, but I also started to realize that the static image implied a “quiet” type of story. If you’ve read Wish You Weren’t, you know that’s not the case. It’s a time-travel adventure filled with magic and out-of-this-world fun.

Fortunately, the very talented Fabián Cobos was able to capture that excitement in his artwork and create a cover that absolutely takes my breath away. I am so excited to finally share this gorgeous new cover with the world!

2015WYW-WebCover

Don’t you love it? This scene with Tör, Marten and Paul takes place at the beginning of chapter six and Fabián got it absolutely perfect. If you happen to get the print version of the book, you also get to see what the pesky little brother Aldrin looks like. And yes, that is the headless Han Solo action figure in his fist 🙂

2015-BackCover-Web

I still get excited every time I look at this new cover! I’m hopeful that it will excite young readers looking for a book to read as well.

FESTIVAL-cube-300x250If you’d like to see the new covers up close and in person, I’m going to be at the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books next month – April 18 from 4 to 6 p.m., signing books at the SCBWI booth #834. SO EXCITED!! This festival attracts more than 150,000 readers every year. I can’t believe I get to be part of the fun this year as an author. Woo-hoo! Some of the authors who will be there include Sarah Dessen, Gayle Forman, Andrew Smith, Ransom Riggs, Neal Schusterman, Rachel Hawkins, Dav Pilkey, Jon Scieszka, Jandy Nelson and Marie Lu. I’m already fangirling!!

To learn more about the SCBWI authors who will be at the booth, visit this link. To learn more about the LA Times Festival of Books, visit this link. You can see the full list of this year’s authors at this link. Hope to see you there!

By the way, if you don’t already subscribe to my newsletter, now would be a good time to sign up. You’ll be the first to hear about specials, you can win subscriber-only prizes and don’t worry – I won’t spam you. Only good stuff in this newsletter! Sign up at MailChimp.

6 thoughts on “Hello, My Pretty

  1. Sherrie–This cover is so much more exciting! Love it! Have a fun time at the festival. I would love to be there.

  2. I love it, and for the shelf shoppers, I think they’ll definitely be drawn in by this cover. Congratulations, and enjoy the festival — we’ll be doing the Texas Library Association Conference that same week.

  3. I was drawn to the last cover- so I thought it was great. But- I LOVE this cover! It is awesome and really helps the reader get a feeling for the story.

    By the way- I told you I was going to put up a review and I plan to do so asap. I want to put it on my blog before I post it anywhere else. My plan is to post it sometime at the end of this month or in June. I was wondering if you would like to do an interview to go with it (review would be a Wednesday and the interview that Friday). I think you have my email- so if you want to do an interview just let me know and I will send you the questions. 🙂

    Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

