Summer at Last!

shortcake

Everybody liked when I baked lemon pound cake for strawberry shortcake and topped it with freshly whipped cream. Yum!

I don’t know if it’s the longer days, or the fact that I’m forever on a school schedule, but I definitely have more energy in the summer. And for me, more energy means more writing, more cooking and baking and more exercise. I’ve never been a fan of the gym, but point me in the direction of a kayak, a easy to moderate hiking trail, or a tennis or racquetball court, and suddenly I’m willing to flex a muscle or two. Since school ended, my family has enjoyed home-cooked meals every day but one, and both my daughter and I are working on new stories.

Yes, my 12-year-old has joined the Wattpad revolution and started posting a story. BUT she has been posting with an anonymous name, even though she reads me the chapters and asks for input before she uploads them. I totally understand the desire for anonymity. It’s a protective instinct: if people don’t like the story, she can ditch it and never claim responsibility. Plus, there’s a freedom to writing when nobody knows who you really are. It allows you to be completely honest and tell the true story of your heart. So yeah, I’m totally encouraging this writing venture. Who knows where it will lead?

We’ve also decided to try writing a story together, based on a project she did in language arts during the spring. It’s going to be a very writerly, bakerly summer. I can hardly wait 🙂

What are your summer plans?

Leave a Reply

