When Good Things Happen to Good People

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 6.38.59 PMSeveral years ago I attended the SCBWI summer conference and one of the wonderful people I met was Rachel Marks. Super talented as both a writer and an artist, she had an incredible joy for life, due in part to being a cancer survivor.

Rachel was rooming with Paige Britt and both of them had gotten special recognition for the manuscripts they had submitted. Our foursome was rounded out by Cindy who, like me, was a teacher when she wasn’t writing. The four of us hung out together and read each others stories. I don’t think I have ever laughed as much as I did that weekend. I hated to go home because we all lived in different places and I seriously wished I could have these amazing people in my life, face to face, on a daily basis. We’ve stayed in contact over the years, but nothing will ever match the synergy of the four of us together that weekend. It was magic.

So imagine how thrilled I was on Saturday, when casually looking over the Amazon Top 100, to see Rachel’s debut at #4!! The book hasn’t even released yet and it’s already hitting the top of the charts! Sweet!!

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 8.31.40 AMPaige has also had a great year. She went on to sign with the agent we all longed for and her novel,Ā The Lost Track of Time, debuted earlier this year, receiving a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly! So cool!!

I LOVE seeing things like this happen for people I know. These are not overnight success stories. It took years of writing and disappointment, rewriting and tears. Which makes their success even sweeter.

Congratulations to my awesome writer friends Paige and Rachel! I’m SO excited for both of you!!

 

7 thoughts on “When Good Things Happen to Good People

  1. I loved reading this post and remembering when we all met in L.A. You are right — it was magic! Just the kind of magic that makes the years and years of writing worthwhile. I’m so excited for Rachel and her well-deserved success. It’s NO surprise, but it is a thrill, to see her climbing the Amazon charts!

  2. Congrats to your friends! I love seeing writing friends successes and get to say, “I know them!” šŸ™‚

  3. I love it when things like this happen, especially when they AREN’T overnight success stories. Because for most of us, it’s a long journey, and it’s nice to see good people get good things šŸ™‚

  4. I love when I get to celebrate in the success and book releases of people I have met. Congrats to all the friends you mentioned in this post. Sounds like they worked hard! What a great post. Thanks for spreading the word about them and their books. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

